What are confirmation emails?
When you click the 'Transfer' button on WeTransfer.com, magic happens behind the scenes. We employ the very best tech wizards and witches from around the globe to make sure that your transfers are uploaded and delivered without any problems, jinxes, or thousand-year-old hexes getting in the way.
To translate this magic into a form easily understood by us mere mortals, you'll receive two emails when you send your stuff with us. You'll get a confirmation email once your upload is completed, and a second email when the recipient has downloaded the transfer.
These emails are fully automated, and triggered by specific actions (replace 'automated' with 'magic', if you'd like to keep the illusion going).
The first email, the one you receive when your upload is complete, is triggered when your entire transfer is uploaded safely onto our servers. We make absolutely sure that the entire upload is stored on our servers before we let you know that's the case via email. This could create a short delay in receiving said email as it flies through cyberspace toward your inbox.
The second email you receive, once a recipient has downloaded a transfer, is triggered by your recipient's actions. They need to click the download link in the email we send them, which will open their browser and take them straight to the transfer. Once they have downloaded the entire transfer, this triggers the download confirmation email you'll receive.
If you've got a WeTransfer Pro account, and choose to send files via link transfer, you’ll only receive a confirmation email the first time someone downloads your transfer. For more information on this, please see here.
Link transfer confirmation emails
Gone are the days when you would create a link transfer, pass it along to a friend, and then a couple of days later, think; '...did they download that file?!'
We've introduced confirmation emails with link transfers for our WeTransfer account holders, so you will now know with confidence if and when someone has downloaded your files.
However, please bear in mind that you will only receive one confirmation email for each transfer, which is triggered the first time it is fully downloaded.
Here's how it works:
You create a shareable link as per normal, and share it however you'd like.
The very first time your transfer is fully downloaded, we'll send you an email to let you know about the good news, which should look something like this:
If you send out a lot of link transfers, and are feeling a little overwhelmed by the amount of notifications coming into your inbox, you can disable these emails by clicking the 'Unsubscribe' link at the bottom of these emails:
Please keep in mind that this email is only going to be sent the first time someone downloads your transfer, and not subsequent downloads. This feature is available with our free accounts, as well as our paid service, WeTransfer Pro.