As a default you send your files via Email transfers. You and the recipient will both receive email notifications. You will receive an upload and download confirmation. This way you can make sure your recipient has received their file(s).
You can also send files via a Link transfer. This type of transfer will not inform you that someone has downloaded your transfer. It is your own responsibility to distribute the download link to the right recipient(s). As a Plus user, you will be able to see the amount of downloads through this link in your Transfer overview.
To switch between transfer options, click on the Share button and select the transferring option you want to use.
A Link transfer can be handy when you want share the link with a lot of people, for example via a tweet, a Facebook post or a newsletter.
A new feature that came with our redesign is messages. Before, you could only add a message for an email transfer. Now, for link transfers, they will appear on the download page.
Our OSX app gives you the option to create link transfers straight from your desktop. No need to even open your browser, here's a tutorial on how the app works!